Being hip

I started to write about the early 90’s east coast-west coast rivalry to enlighten some people I know, who had no clue about it. While I was *ahem* researching, I came across this very touching writing by Lonnae O’Neal Parker.

I really like hip hop and it’s sad that most people don’t know it wasn’t just about bling, eminem and gangsta wars. Even that is not bad to listen to but after a point all the swearing and explicitness turns you off.

Hip hop started in the 70’s and grew parallely along with the black power movement and influenced much like how Dylan did with his music a generation ago. But, in the late nineties and early 2000, these traces are obscured by the foul mouthing Hip-Hop bad boys.

There are other sounds though. Try listening to Kanye West, as Lonnae says, he blends commercial with commentary and does it really well.

For the coast rivalry see this wikipedia article. Even if I’d written about that I’d have borrowed from here anyway.

I feel sad. I feel sad for Lonnae O’Neal Parker. I feel sad for Tibet.

3 Responses to “Being hip”

  1. Arjun Says:

    I don’t quite ‘dig’ hip-hop, but reading that article by Parker makes me reconsider my previously severely condescending view of it a bit. Maybe it’s nice. I will try and listen to it now.

    Black people are very musical. And very talented when it comes to the ‘artistic expression of the soul’ or whatever.

    Tibet?

  2. patchcable Says:

    Yeah, I know what you mean when you say ‘artistic expression of the soul’ .

    Had just seen some Tibetean talk on TV against Hu’s India visit. Their’s seem such a lost cause. Seems like peaceful people are never heard and people have to bomb towers to show the world how they’ve been wronged.

    I mean, they hardly have any vocal, popular support except a few eccentric Hollywood actors.

    Still, I admire that they don’t resort to suicide bombing and such to get what they want.

  3. patchcable Says:

    Did you know there is a quaint ‘Tibet store’ on the Brigade road – Residency road junction?

    It’s so quaint it can easily be the entrance to Narnia.

Leave a Reply

